I
told myself that I wasn’t going to get myself into this series, but my mom
highly recommended that I read the books and then watch the movie with her. I
must say both the book and the movie highly entertained me. I think even if I
hadn’t read the book I still would have enjoyed the film with its faced-paced action
and clever editing.
There
were of course changes from the book, but that is only to be expected. I
thought they did a pretty good job keeping in line with the book’s storyline up
until the end, and even then, I understood why they made the choices they did
to spice up the climax. I can’t say which storyline I liked more, because they
were both fine.
The
thing that impressed me the most was how they transitioned between hallucinations
and reality. It was really creative how they edited it so you did not notice
when Tris slipped under and her simulation began, sort of like you were
experiencing it like she was. I especially loved Tris’s mental test were each
of her fears segued into each other. That was a cool sequence to watch.
It was a fantastically written
novel and fantastically filmed movie, but neither blew me away. To its credit, it
takes a lot to impress me these days. Maybe once I have more time to process (I
read the book in four days and saw the movie two days after) I will have a
better opinion about it.
IMDb rating: 7/10
No comments:
Post a Comment