It’s been a while since I’ve seen a
comic book movie that I’ve really liked. I think the X-Men universe is my
favorite out of all the superhero movies, probably because it’s the one I have
been a fan of the longest (other than Spiderman, but I hate the new movies,
so…)
This movie’s plot wasn’t really
that original, but I didn’t mind. There are horrible things going on so someone
has to be sent back in time to stop one event that started it all, but first
they have to pull a character out of drunken, depressed state and they have to
break another character out of a high security prison in an elaborate scheme.
It all seemed like it had been done before, but they still had fresh takes on
things so I didn’t really care.
I thought the visual effects (the
sentinels in the future timeline were so frightening!) and the action sequences
were really good, and that is what is important in a superhero movie. What are
even more important, however, are the characters. I have been geeking out about
this movie ever since I heard that the cast from the old movies and the new
movies were both going to star in DOFP. It was like The Avengers, only better because it joined together characters
that I grew up with along with the new ones that I’ve come to love in First Class. I thought they pulled off
the two simultaneous storylines very well.
The script also effectively balanced
between dramatic and emotional, and light and comical. I thought this was going
to be a very dark movie, which it was in some parts, but I liked how they kept
the humor, which is a superhero movie must. I liked the Quicksilver character
more than I thought I would, and his scenes were very entertaining, but I’m
glad we only got a small dose of him. If he had a more prominent role in the
film I probably would have gotten annoyed with him.
Someone give James McAvoy an Oscar!
He is so freaking talented! Every movie I see him in he astounds me with how
well he can make you feel for his character. He is so underrated and I hope he
gets the recognition he deserves some day.
(*Spoilers) My initial thoughts
toward the ending were not very good. I felt like it was a slap in the face to
all of the original X-Men films. Now none of it ever happened! It also left a
lot of open questions, but maybe I just need to see it a few more times. I
would have been fine with the ending if this was the last X-Men movie they were
ever going to make. Then it would have been a nice happy ending to the series.
There is, however, going to be another X-Men movie. I read later that the
director filmed it this way so they could get rid of all the inconsistencies in
the X-Men world, which I agree with; they’ve been all over the place with their
storylines. I guess that means that they are just starting with a fresh slate
for any future movies, and all of the other movies that were “erased” are just
different paths in time. Anyway, I loved the movie but the ending left me with
a bad taste in my mouth.
Wow. I just proved my nerdiness by
the long length of this blog post. Oh well, hope you enjoyed it.
IMDb rating: 8/10
No comments:
Post a Comment