Tuesday, December 15, 2015

In the Heart of the Sea (2015)


IMDb Rating: 7/10

***Spoilers ahead

I liked this movie very much. It was captivating from start to finish. But there were still flaws, and it seemed to be lacking something, and I still haven’t figured out what it is.

Chris Hemsworth impressed me. He is not the best actor of his generation but he can give a heartfelt performance. His accent was weird at times, though. All of the accents sounded off, actually. I guess there were too many British actors trying to pull off American accents. I get it was 1820 and the dialects were different, but still. It just seemed kind of sloppy. I give the overall acting a B-. The visual effects didn't blow me away either, but I also saw it in IMAX so everything was huge and hard to see.

I have high hopes for Tom Holland, the boy who played Thomas Nickerson. He reminds me so much of a young Jamie Bell, and I am excited to see him as the new Spider-Man. I was also impressed (as I always am) by Cillian Murphy’s performance. I think he’s such an underrated actor.

I knew this was going to be a wiener-measuring contest between the captain and the first mate as soon as we were introduced to their characters, and lo and behold it was: a feud between a man with a good family name and a man with humble beginnings who holds the real respect of the crew. I understand that it was necessary for the plot that they didn’t get along, but it was a little overdone. And of course they made up in the end and found a mutual respect for each other. It was these kinds of clichés and cheesy moments that prevented me from giving the movie a higher rating.

I found myself rooting for the whale initially. He is just trying to protect himself and his fellow whales! He went a little too far though when he smashed up the sailors’ rowboats when they were already very much defeated. What a [Moby] Dick move. Ha.

I guess it was inevitable that Owen Chase and the whale would have a mutual respect thing happen at the climax at the movie. It still felt like one of those pesky clichés again.

I really didn’t think Owen was going to survive to the end. Especially how they played up his wife and future child and how he promised to return home to them. And I really thought he was going to keel over just as they finally sighted land. But they have to stick to facts of the story, so thankfully this didn't happen. Unbelievably, I was able to leave the theater with a good feeling, rather being utterly depressed after watching all that suffering.

If you aren’t a complete nitpicker like I am, you will definitely be able to sit back, relax, and enjoy a film about a fascinating survival story set in an enchanting time period.

Friday, November 6, 2015

Crimson Peak (2015)

crimson peak


IMDb rating: 7/10

***Spoilers ahead

To be honest, I'll watch anything with Tom Hiddleston in it, but that's just my immature fangirl showing. I really do love the work of all three of the main actors, so that was really what drew me to the film.

The storyline of Crimson Peak is not very original, but that did not make the movie any less interesting or suspenseful. I think Guillermo del Toro’s work is fascinating. I did have to remind myself that I was watching a del Toro film and I was going to see some weird stuff. Like extreme close ups of bugs, for instance. But you also get all the wonderful and magical aspects of a del Toro film as well.

I liked how the color red was a theme throughout the film, from the blood to the clay to the creatures of the house. I think I saw somewhere that it's supposed to represent the comparison between fear/violence and sexuality. I could just be making that up, but if I am than I think it's a good point anyway.

I thought it was cool how each ghost had a different look. Edith's mother was black and skeletal, since she died of Black Plague (I think, or else another illness). The murdered mother or murdered wife (I forget which) was red since she was killed in the house. I'm not sure why Thomas turned into a steampunk-looking ghost, but I loved the look. If you're going to be a ghost, at least be a cool ghost.

I knew the Sharpe siblings were going to be creepy but I really thought this was going to be a story about a malignant ghost or creature in the house. But it turned out to be about how the humans are the monsters, not the spirits. That is what I loved about Pan’s Labyrinth. I also somehow knew it would be revealed that Thomas and Lucille had an incestuous relationship. Maybe I watch too much Game of Thrones. Or it's the fact that Hollywood can't seem to make a brother and sister live alone together without them secretly fondling each other.

The spirits are actually helpful, which brings up the common confusion I have with horror stories: if the ghosts are trying to help, why are they grabbing people and doing jump-scares and terrorizing them?!?! It doesn't make sense. And why can't they be more specific? Instead of just "Get out" the red ghost could have told Edith, "Get out because your husband and sister-in-law are going to kill you." See, much more helpful.


I really don't know how I would categorize this one. It feels like horror, but the first half gives off a period romance feel. Which truly does make it a gothic horror, I suppose, which was del Toro’s intention. Anyway, I think everyone could get something out of it that they enjoy. Whether that it’s the horror, mystery, romance, beautiful cinematography, or top-notch acting. I wasn't bored, that's for sure.

Friday, October 23, 2015

Beasts of No Nation (2015)

Beasts of No Nation


IMDb Rating: 8/10

*Mild Spoilers

This film is unique in the fact that it is the first (that I know) feature film to be a Netflix original as well as showing in theaters. It is an interesting decision, and I wonder if other filmmakers will go that route in the future. It's a little sad to think that “going to the movies” may be obsolete one day. But I digress; back to the actual movie.

The definite highlight of this movie is Abraham Attah's acting. He plays a young boy in Africa named Agu who has been ripped from his home after witnessing the death of his father and brother, and joining a group of mercenaries as a child soldier. As if a story like that couldn't be horrible and fascinating enough, the character becomes even more complex, because he is promised revenge on the government soldiers who killed his family. What makes this different from other child soldier stories I’ve seen (e.g. Blood Diamond) is that there is a part of Agu that wants to be killing the enemy soldiers, even though he knows it is wrong. And this happens as soon as he joins, before he is even brainwashed.

I was very invested in Agu and his family very quickly, even though they were only on screen for a short amount of time. It was heartbreaking watching his childhood and imaginative spirit taken away from him. One of my favorite scenes was one Agu and his friends took the screen out of a TV and as he changed the channels on the dial, his friends would act out soap operas, dancing, and Kung fu. I loved it because it seemed like something me and brothers and cousins would have done as children. It's that relatable moment that makes it all the more traumatic when Agu's childhood is destroyed.

I wasn't expecting the rebel army to invoke so much sympathy. I thought they would be pure evil and cruel to the children. Annnnnd only minutes after I wrote that, the story got so much worse. Rape, kicking babies, shooting civilians, and more. Agu asks God, “Are you watching what we are doing?” It made me realize that no matter how much you humanize it, forcing children into war is wrong. Really, war for adults is wrong too. No one should have to go through it.

Agu watches as the Commandant, who was a hero in his eyes, slowly reveal himself to be self-serving and slowly losing his mind. Edris Elba is superb as the Commandant, as I knew he would be. I was so terribly afraid that this movie would end badly, or depressingly. And while it definitely wasn't cheery, there was hope of healing for Agu and the other boys.

I am definitely keeping Cary Joji Fukunaga on my radar. I am obsessed with his version of Jane Eyre, but I haven't seen much else of his work. If he keeps making quality work like Beasts of No Nation, I will certainly continue to watch it.


This is a great movie guys, and if you already have Netflix, then you don't even need to spend a dime to watch it! If my predictions are right, you'll have an Oscar contender under your belt for when the award season rolls around. So go watch it! And let me know what you think.

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Jurassic World (2015)





IMDb rating: 7/10

*Caution: Spoilers Ahead

I didn’t really have a strong reaction when I heard the news for this film, other than: Ugh, seriously? Another reboot? But it was inevitable that I would eventually see it, and the time has come.  

First of all, I’m glad that Bryce Dallas Howards's character had more screen time and character development than I thought she would. I was assuming it was just going to be the Chris Pratt show (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing). I knew Claire was a main character but I thought she was going to have a soulless, greedy, naïve role with not much character depth, like so many other Jurassic characters in the past. Luckily, that role was passed on to someone else, and while Claire was a little cold and calculating in the beginning, she definitely became a more likable character as the story progressed, especially when she joins up with Owen and starts searching for her nephews.

The film has a nice nostalgic feel to it, which is probably what the filmmakers were going for. Gray’s excitement when he sees the part for the first time is shared with the audience, since we’ve never actually seen a fully functioning Jurassic Park in any of the previous films. I also think the nostalgia is the reason that so many people are enjoying this movie. There are so many nods to the first Jurassic movie, and no references the subpar sequels at all.

The script was not very impressive, and it was full of clichés. Like the typical bored teenager who is only interesting in listening to music and texting his girlfriend. YOU ARE AT A DINOSAUR THEME PARK. How are you not excited?!?! Overall, I thought the dialog and characters were not very imaginative.

I loved Chris Pratt (who doesn’t?) and his relationship with the Velociraptors, which was by far the most fascinating part of the movie. I was severely disappointed when the raptors immediately teamed up with the Indominus Rex as soon as they were out in the field. I was looking forward to the raptors taking on the Rex in a huge battle. Thankfully, albeit predictably, the raptors do turn back to the human side. And we also have a Rex-on-Rex fight! It wasn’t as awesome as I thought it would be, but the moment leading up to it was incredible, where Claire is finally the hero as she leads the T-Rex into the fight (and in heels no less!)

I thought it was kind of convenient that the mosasaurus just popped out of the water and killed the Indominus. It was also strange that the T-Rex just walks away at the end of the battle. I get that there was some kind of mutual respect thing between the raptor and the T-Rex, but it just seemed out of place and unlikely. There wasn’t much of a conclusion to the film, either. You don’t even know if they got off the island since there was no helicopter-flying-over-water last shot like there usually is.


Lastly, I’ll end on a positive note. I wasn’t sure I wanted to write a post this movie, but I changed my mind once I saw the animatronic dinosaur, which made me so happy. A non-CGI dinosaur! I’m always pleasantly surprised when films still make real things instead of taking the easy path with computers. And what a good moment for it too: the moment when Claire sees the dying brontosaurus and realizes that the dinosaurs are actual creatures and not just park attractions. There was so much more emotion since there was an actual dinosaur head to act with instead of just a dot that would be filled in later with computer animation. Take notes, Hollywood.

Saturday, May 2, 2015

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)


IMDb Rating: 8/10

*Caution: Spoilers Ahead

First of all, I used a picture of Black Widow for this review because it always seems like she is left out of some promotional materials, while the four main men who all have their own movie franchises are always included. Hawkeye seems to be left out too, but who cares about Hawkeye, right? I’m kidding! But seriously, when is Black Widow going to get her own movie?

I’ll admit, when the first footage of The Avengers came out, I was skeptical. Could it actually work to bring several franchises together to create the ultimate team up? It just seemed like a fanboy drool fest and not something that would be quality filmmaking. Thankfully, I was wrong, and The Avengers had me believing in superhero movies again.

A little bit of my skepticism resurfaced for the sequel, however, and had me asking questions like: Can the magical chemistry between characters be replicated in Age of Ultron? Will Disney’s monopoly on all things amazing somehow taint Marvel? It turns out that Joss Whedon can replicate a good thing, and I didn’t think this film was any better or any worse than it’s predecessor.

Maybe I would have a stronger opinion if I watched it a second time. The story was jam-packed, and I felt like a missed a lot. (It might have to do with the fact that I’m an old lady trapped in a 22-year-old’s body and can’t stay up past 10pm and my showing was at 9:45). If I had a second viewing, I might be able to pick out a few plot holes or other flaws. Overall, though, I thought they did a great job and it was absolutely fine, especially as the second movie in a trilogy.

No one could have pulled off the role of Ultron as well as James Spader. His voice alone is terrifying and the character’s animation was phenomenal. He was so human while being not-human, and it was a very chilling effect. The visual effects in general I would give an A+. Two new characters were also introduced, genetically enhanced (ahem, mutants) twins Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch. Days of Future Past Quicksilver > Age of Ultron Quicksilver. Sorry, Aaron Taylor-Johnson. I had no problem with your character, but that slow-mo scene from Days of Future Past is hard to top. (*Spoiler) His character was starting to grow on me, right up until they killed him off.

Scarlet Witch, however, was freaking awesome. I thought her powers were so cool, and her surprising pep talk from Hawkeye gave her the courage to make a kick butt entrance into the fight and become a physical force to be reckoned with, not just a mental one. I’m glad they decided not to kill her off and hopefully they will keep her on for future installments. It was nice overall to see more female characters in this very male-driven franchise. I think this passed the Bechdel Test, which the first Avengers film did not.

I wasn't really a fan of the Bruce/Natasha relationship. It seemed kind of forced, like they were trying to shove a romantic subplot into the puzzle. It's annoying that it's assumed if she's part of an all-men team, she's bound to fall in love with one of them. Once again the female character is defined by her romantic choices. At least she is defined by so many other things so I can forgive it. One of my favorite parts of the movie was the hallucination montage brought on by Scarlet Witch’s manipulation of the Avengers’ minds. We got to see a glimpse into Natasha’s mysterious past, which I absolutely loved and now crave more of. SERIOUSLY WE NEED A BLACK WIDOW MOVIE!!! Mr. Whedon, can’t you make this happen?

And so the film ends with the Avengers unassembled once more. Hawkeye goes back to live with his wife Velma Laura for a while. Thor leaves again to do some Asgard stuff. Tony is off to be Tony. Bruce is probably meditating on Dagobah or somewhere. And Cap and Natasha are left to train new recruits.


There are so many other things I could discuss (Iron Man’s faceoff with Hulk, the return of the helicarrier!, Paul Bettany’s awesome transformation from Jarvis into Vision) but I think I’ve said enough. This movie was certainly imaginative and entertaining, but I wasn't really blown away either. I will be looking forward to the Infinity War and all the other Marvel universe stories in between.

Saturday, April 18, 2015

Lucy (2014)



IMDb Rating: 6/10

It was pretty to look at? That’s about the best thing I can say about this movie. I felt like I was on drugs while watching it. Not to mention the countless clichés: exposition through educational presentation (delivered by Morgan Freeman), beginning the film by talking about human evolution, inside the body shots to show the transformation occurring to the main character’s body. I hate those shots. It’s so 2002. And I didn’t even like it in the Spider-Man movies.

Lucy is exposed to a drug that allows her to use her brain’s full capacity (like in Limitless(2011)). To be fair, Lucy’s script was in the making for almost a decade, before Limitless came out. Regardless, both films have similar plots. As the story progresses, Lucy’s brain percentage increases, and so does my dislike. I liked the beginning, sort of. I thought it was interesting how there was virtually no back-story before Lucy was thrown into a terrifying drug operation, which leads to her new powers. It made the audience feel like we are getting thrown into it along with her. For some reason I liked the use of Discovery Channel animal stock footage to parallel a cheetah hunting a gazelle to Lucy getting apprehended by the drug lords when the deal goes sour. It was a cool juxtaposition, but the stock videos soon became overused.

It got very old very quickly the way Lucy was easily able to defeat any obstacle in her path. Sure, it was entertaining to see the different and creative ways she overpowers puny humans, but it still got old. Some parts were just utterly ridiculous and stretched the imagination. Like when she was vomiting multi-colored light after getting an IV of the drug. Why would that ever happen to you even if you did reach the full capacity of your brain?


Lastly, I’ll just say that I love Scarlett Johansson’s work and I thought she was great in this role. Her gravity and elegance was perfect. The visuals really were stunning, and that made the film captivating and entertaining. Otherwise? I’m just glad I didn’t spend the money to see it in theaters.

Monday, February 16, 2015

Foxcatcher (2014)


IMDb rating: 7/10

I've been catching up on my Oscar nominees lately (The Intimidation Game, The Theory of Everything, Birdman, American Sniper, The Judge) but I haven't had the time or energy to write reviews for any of them. But I decided I wanted to write at least one review for a movie that’s in the Oscar race, especially since I haven’t written in a while. So hear it is: my review for Foxcatcher.

First I must comment on the most interesting of casting choices. I think I can say with confidence that this is the first major film role for Steve Carell that isn't a comedy or dramedy. It seems that when comedic actors step into these types of roles, however, it can sometimes create a chilling effect, which might be what the director had intended.

Wrestling is such a weird sport. No offense to those of you who participate in it, but I can’t say that I enjoyed two hours of men rubbing and groping each other. It’s just not my thing. This was a well-performed, well-directed film, though, and I’m glad I watched it, but I can’t really say I overly enjoyed it. It was very awkward and bizarre, but I suppose that’s part of the appeal. There was a darkness hanging over the entire plot, and I knew that it ended in some kind of “tragedy,” which it kept me in suspense wondering what it would be.

One last thing: I don’t know if it was intentional or not, but when du Pont is leaving Dave’s hotel room and Mark tries to go with him, du Pont tells him, “No, Mark. Stay.” I couldn’t help being reminded of a dog obeying its master. That is kind of the relationship I saw between du Pont and Mark, and it was definitely unhealthy.


Kudos to Steve Carell, and Channing Tatum as well, for breaking out of their usual roles and taking on a fascinating project that they and Mark Ruffalo all put a lot of work into. I’m not sure if this film will win any Oscars or not, but it was definitely interesting to watch.