IMDb Rating: 6/10
It was pretty to look at? That’s about the best thing I can
say about this movie. I felt like I
was on drugs while watching it. Not to mention the countless clichés:
exposition through educational presentation (delivered by Morgan Freeman),
beginning the film by talking about human evolution, inside the body shots to
show the transformation occurring to the main character’s body. I hate those
shots. It’s so 2002. And I didn’t even like it in the Spider-Man movies.
Lucy is exposed to a drug that allows her to use her brain’s
full capacity (like in Limitless(2011)). To be fair, Lucy’s script
was in the making for almost a decade, before
Limitless came out. Regardless, both films have similar plots. As the story
progresses, Lucy’s brain percentage increases, and so does my dislike. I liked
the beginning, sort of. I thought it was interesting how there was virtually no
back-story before Lucy was thrown into a terrifying drug operation, which leads
to her new powers. It made the audience feel like we are getting thrown into it
along with her. For some reason I liked the use of Discovery Channel animal
stock footage to parallel a cheetah hunting a gazelle to Lucy getting
apprehended by the drug lords when the deal goes sour. It was a cool
juxtaposition, but the stock videos soon became overused.
It got very old very quickly the way Lucy was easily able to
defeat any obstacle in her path. Sure, it was entertaining to see the different
and creative ways she overpowers puny humans, but it still got old. Some parts
were just utterly ridiculous and stretched the imagination. Like when she was
vomiting multi-colored light after getting an IV of the drug. Why would that
ever happen to you even if you did reach the full capacity of your brain?
Lastly, I’ll just say that I love Scarlett Johansson’s work
and I thought she was great in this role. Her gravity and elegance was perfect.
The visuals really were stunning, and that made the film captivating and
entertaining. Otherwise? I’m just glad I didn’t spend the money to see it in
theaters.

No comments:
Post a Comment